Annual Memorial Awards

Tony Johnson Award

Tony was a key part of the club from the early 2000’s until 2016 when he was diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease which, ultimately stopped him from running. To say his time at the club was integral to the current success would be an understatement and we all owe a huge debt of gratitude to him for his leadership, straight talking, dogged determination and useful inventions. Tony was chairman of HJ from 2011 to 2015. Read More

This is a handcrafted award presented to the team member who demonstrates standout performance, determination, and perseverance (all qualities that Tony possessed in spades and demonstrated countless times) in the South Downs Relay weekend event. First presented at the event in 2021.


  • 2021 Steve Wright
  • 2022 Anita Mazlo
  • 2023: Rebecca Rankin

Andy Spriggs Running Spirit Award

Andy joined Horsham Joggers in 1996 and became a regular and committed member, often helping newcomers, leading groups, participating in races and eventually taking over the organisation of a flagging Horsham 10k race in 2005. His contribution to the 10k was pivotal and he almost single-handedly drove the event forward for eight years to its current status as a regular feature on the annual race calendar. Read More

This award is presented at the Horsham 10k race by the Race Director to someone who demonstrates exceptional generosity, courage, stoicism, passion, perseverance or sportsmanship.


  • 2018 Mick Duplock (Horsham Joggers)
  • 2019 Martin Greaves (Fittleworth Flyers)
  • 2022 Heather Cord (Crawley Run Crew)
  • 2023: Nina Trevarthen (Crawley Saints & Sinners)

Eileen Quinton Award

Eileen Quinton – The ‘Queen of the West Sussex Fun Run League’ – was an accomplished and determined runner, even well into her 80’s. Eileen was on the original Horsham Joggers Committee. An inspiration to many Horsham Joggers.

This is a shield presented at the AGM in April for Achievement and Participation in the West Sussex Fun Run League. First presented in 2023 for the WSFRL season in 2022.

The award is based on a points system of 5 points for each event plus the points award by WSFRL for race position.


2022: Luke Minogue